News

Exner Lectures 2021

November 23rd & 24th, 2021

In this anniversary year, we have succeeded in designing a comprehensive programme that, as usual, focuses on the research priorities of the laureates. With Luisa Torsi, Katalin Karikó and the laureate from 2020, Ed Boyden, top-class speakers can be expected at the Exner Lectures in Vienna’s Palais Eschenbach. Secure your place now!

To program & registration

WILHELM EXNER MEDALS 2021 GO TO
KATALIN KARIKÓ AND LUISA TORSI

In the anniversary year, two outstanding female researchers will be honoured for their discoveries that changed society and the economy.

“With Luisa Torsi and Katalin Karikó, the Wilhelm Exner Medal will be awarded to two outstanding researchers who, in keeping with Exner’s spirit, have triggered decisive industrial and commercial developments with their findings, inspired entrepreneurial activity and created an immanent social benefit,” reads Secretary General Stephan Blahut the jury’s decision for 2021.

The award of the medal is only made on the proposal of the previous medal holders and is determined in a secret session of the jury chaired by the former chairman of the Rectors’ Conference, Hans Sünkel.

“When the medal was awarded in 1921, the focus was on promoting the common good, industry, trade and commerce on the basis of scientific knowledge. Today, 100 years later, we can look at a fascinating and long list of 240 women and men who have been inventors, designers, chemists, physicists or biologists, including 23 Nobel Prize winners.”

All of the honourees more than live up to Exner’s claim. The potential of their research has led to countless company foundations, products and applications. Much can be expected in the coming years,” Blahut concludes the announcement and invites people to participate in the Exner Week events surrounding the award ceremony on 24 November 2021 at the Foundation’s headquarters, Palais Eschenbach, in Vienna.

Katalin Karikó

Katalin Karikó

University of Pennsylvania, USA; Biontech, D

Katalin Karikó is leading the development of mRNA-based drugs. Karikó and colleagues succeeded in packaging the sensitive mRNA molecules in lipid molecules. Such tiny nanoparticles can be injected into animals and humans without triggering a dangerous immune reaction. Their work is the basis for vaccines against covid-19 and for drugs against cancer, strokes or cystic fibrosis. The company Moderna was also founded on the basis of this technology. Karikó herself has been the senior vice president of research at Biontech since 2013.

Foto Katalin Karikó (1,4 MB) © Katalin Karikó

Luisa Torsi

Luisa Torsi

Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro

Luisa Torsi is a pioneer in organic bioelectronics. Her research cross-cuttingly combines electronic and electrochemical sensors, analytical chemistry, organic semiconductors, solid-state device physics, materials chemistry and physics. Standing at the forefront of one of the fastest growing research directions in organic electronics, her discoveries promise new technologies for healthcare and human well-being, for example very thin, energy-efficient electronics such as highly flexible displays for smartphones.

Foto Luisa Torsi (8,4 MB) © Marianna Ladisa

100 YEARS WILHELM EXNER MEDAL

When the Austrian Trade Association OGV honored Wilhelm Exner in the 60th year of his membership in the association with the endowment of a medal, the focus of the then new award was the recognition of excellent research and discovery work.

Over the past hundred years, we have been able to pay tribute to precisely those men and women who lived up to Exner’s ideals at the interface of science, research and entrepreneurship, who often set new standards in their fields of research and who have been awarded the highest scientific honors.

The women and men who set out to gain new knowledge and thus enable the progress of our societies will also be the focus of the anniversary celebrations in Vienna at the end of November, 2021.

DER LAUREAT 2020

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the medal could not be presented in 2020. We are very pleased to be able to welcome Ed Boyden to Vienna for the 100th anniversary celebration and to make up for the honor in late November, 2021.

Edward S. Boyden

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

Edward Boyden pioneered ‘expansion microscopy’, a method that embeds the object of interest in a polymer and enlarges it by swelling the matrix. The optical parameters are not changed for improved resolution, the object itself is enlarged. A revolution in the 300 year history of microscopy. Boyden is also going the other way: 3D nanofabrication. He can build up objects in this polymer, shrink them down through controlled shrinkage and thus open up new possibilities for the production of extremely fine structures. The companies Boyden co-founded have their business field in their names: Expansion Technologies and (in formation) Implosion Fabrication.

Foto Ed Boyden (10,4 MB) © Ed Boyden

CONGRATULATIONS TO EMMANUELLE CHARPENTIER

Emmanuelle Charpentier

The Wilhelm Exner Medal Foundation cordially congratulates Emmanuelle Charpentier on the Nobel Prize for Chemistry

“Prof. Charpentier has revived people’s dream of curing hereditary and cancerous diseases with her research work on the CRISPR / Cas7 gene scissors. She rightly has been awarded this highest scientific honor,” says the foundation’s managing director, Prof. Hans Sünkel, delighting the decision of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The Wilhelm Exner Medal, named after the Austrian business and technology promoter, has been awarded since 1921 to 237 scientists and inventors who are distinguished by their relationship to business practice. Their contribution has been and still is the base for the growth of industry and commerce and therefore correspond to the principles represented by Wilhelm Exner.

Emmanuelle Charpentier was awarded the Wilhelm Exner Medal in 2016. “The announcement by the Nobel Prize Committee makes Charpentier the 23rd person to have received both awards,” said Secretary General Stephan Blahut, “We are proud that the most important Austrian award at the interface of science and business got this impressive confirmation.”

Emmanuelle Charpentiers Exner Lecture (2016)

Nobel Academy Website

Aktuelles

Wilhelm Exner Medaillen 2021 gehen an
Katalin Karikó und Luisa Torsi

Im Jubiläumsjahr werden zwei herausragende Forscherinnen für ihre die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft verändernden Entdeckungen geehrt.

„Mit Luisa Torsi und Katalin Karikó wird die Wilhelm Exner Medaille an zwei herausragende Forscherinnen verliehen, die mit ihren Erkenntnissen ganz im Sinne Exners entscheidende gewerbe-industrielle Entwicklungen angestoßen, unternehmerische Tätigkeit beflügelt und einen immanenten gesellschaftlichen Nutzen gestiftet haben,“ verliest Generalsekretär Stephan Blahut die Entscheidung der Jury für 2021.

„Als die Medaille 1921 ausgelobt wurde, stand die Beförderung des Gemeinwohls, der Industrie, des Gewerbes und des Handels auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse im Fokus. Heute, 100 Jahre später, dürfen wir auf eine faszinierende und lange Liste von 240 Frauen und Männern blicken, die als Erfinderinnen, Konstrukteure, Chemikerinnen, Physiker oder Biologinnen, darunter 23 Nobelpreisträger.“

Alle Geehrten werden dem Exner‘schen Anspruch mehr als gerecht. Die Potenziale ihrer Forschung haben zu unzähligen Unternehmensgründungen, Produkten und Anwendungen geführt. Vieles ist in den nächsten Jahren zu erwarten“, schließt Blahut die Verlautbarung und lädt zur Teilnahme an den Veranstaltungen der Exner-Woche rund um die Verleihung am 24. November 2021 am Sitz der Stiftung, dem Palais Eschenbach, in Wien ein.

Katalin Karikó

Katalin Karikó

University of Pennsylvania, USA; Biontech, D

Katalin Karikó ist federführend an der Entwicklung von Medikamenten auf mRNA-Basis beteiligt. Karikó und Kollegen gelang, die empfindlichen mRNA-Moleküle in Lipid-Moleküle zu verpacken. Solche winzigen Nanopartikel kann man Tieren und Menschen injizieren, ohne eine gefährliche Immunreaktion auszulösen. Ihre Arbeit ist Grundlage für Impfstoffe gegen Covid-19 und für Medikamente gegen Krebs, Schlaganfälle oder Zystische Fibrose. Auf Basis dieser Technologie wurde auch die Firma Moderna gegründet. Karikó selbst ist seit 2013 als Senior Vice President Forschungsleiterin von Biontech.

Foto Katalin Karikó (1,4 MB) © Katalin Karikó

Luisa Torsi

Luisa Torsi

Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro

Luisa Torsi ist Pionierin der organischen Bioelektronik. In ihrer Forschungsarbeit verbindet sie übergreifend elektronische und elektrochemische Sensoren, analytische Chemie, organische Halbleiter, Festkörper-Bauelemente-Physik, Materialchemie und -physik. An der Spitze einer der am schnellsten wachsenden Forschungsrichtungen in der organischen Elektronik stehend, versprechen ihre Entdeckungen neue Technologien für das Gesundheitswesen und das menschliche Wohlbefinden, beispielsweise sehr dünne, energieeffiziente Elektroniken wie etwa hochflexible Displays für Smartphones.

Foto Luisa Torsi (8,4 MB) © Marianna Ladisa

100 JAHRE WILHELM EXNER MEDAILLE

Als der Österreichische Gewerbeverein im 60. Jahr seiner Mitgliedschaft im Verein, Wilhelm Exner mit der Stiftung einer Medaille ehrte, stand die Würdigung exzellenter Forschungs- und Entdeckungsarbeit im Fokus der damals neuen Auszeichnung.

In hundert Jahren durften wir genau solchen Frauen und Männer unser Hochachtung erweisen, die den ‘Exnerschen Idealen’ an der Schnittstelle Wissensschaft, Forschung und Unternehmertum entsprachen, oftmals selbst neue Maßstäbe in ihren Forschungsfeldern setzten und mit den allerhöchsten, wissenschaftlichen Ehren ausgezeichnet sind.

Die Frauen und Männern, die sich aufmachen neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen und damit den Fortschritt unserer Gesellschaften ermöglichen, stehen auch im Mittelpunkt der Jubiläumsfeierlichkeiten rund um die Verleihung der diesjährigen Medaille am 24. November 2021 in Wien.

DER MEDAILLENTRÄGER 2020

Aus Gründen der COVID-19 Pandemie konnte die Medaille 2020 nicht überreicht werden. Wir freuen uns sehr, Ed Boyden, im Rahmen der 100 Jahrefeier in Wien begrüßen zu können und die Ehrung Ende November 2021 nachholen zu dürfen.

Edward S. Boyden

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

Edward Boyden ist Pionier der ‚expansion microscopy‘, einer Methode die das zu untersuchende Objekt in ein Polymer eingebettet und durch Quellen der Matrix vergrößert. Es werden nicht die optischen Parameter für die verbesserte Auflösung verändert, der Gegenstand selbst wird vergrößert. Eine Revolution in der 300 jährigen Geschichte der Mikroskopie. Boyden beschreitet auch den umgekehrten Weg: die 3D-Nanofabrikation. Er kann in diesem Polymer Objekte aufbauen, durch kontrolliertes Schrumpfen verkleinern und eröffnet damit neue Möglichkeiten zur Herstellung von extrem feinen Strukturen. Die von Boyden mit-gegründeten Firmen tragen ihr Geschäftsfeld im Namen: Expansion Technologies und (in Gründung) Implosion Fabrication.

Foto Ed Boyden (10,4 MB) © Ed Boyden

Congratulations to Emmanuelle Charpentier

Emmanuelle Charpentier

Congratulations to Emmanuelle Charpentier

Die Wilhelm Exner Medaillen Stiftung gratuliert Emmanuelle Charpentier herzlich zum Nobelpreis für Chemie.

„Prof. Charpentier hat mit Ihrer Forschungsleistung um die Gen-Schere CRISPR/Cas7 den Traum der Menschen nach Heilung von Erb- und Krebserkrankungen neu beflügelt und wird heute dafür zu Recht mit dieser höchsten wissenschaftlichen Ehre ausgezeichnet,“ freut sich der Stiftungs-Geschäftsführer, Univ.-Prof. Hans Sünkel, mit der Geehrten über die Entscheidung der Königlich-Schwedischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Die nach dem österreichischen Wirtschafts- und Technikförderer benannte Wilhelm Exner Medaille wurde seit 1921 an 237 Wissenschaftler und Erfinder verliehen, die sich durch einen Bezug zur unternehmerischen Praxis auszeichnen. Sie bildeten und bilden das Fundament für das Wachstum von Industrie und Gewerbe und entsprechen daher den von Wilhelm Exner vertretenen Prinzipien.

Emmanuelle Charpentier wurde 2016 die Wilhelm Exner Medaille zuerkannt. “Die Verkündung des Nobelpreis-Kommittees macht Charpentier zur 23. Person, die beide Auszeichnungen erhalten hat,“ freut sich Generalsekretär Stephan Blahut, “Es erfüllt uns mit Stolz, dass dadurch die wichtigste österreichische Auszeichnung an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft eindrucksvoll Bestätigung erfährt.”

 


Emmanuelle Charpentiers Exner Lecture (2016)

Nobel Academy Website