1923

Hubert Engels

Hubert Engels has gone down in history as the founder of the science of hydraulic engineering. He studied civil engineering and specialized in hydraulic engineering. Initially, he worked for the Prussian Hydraulic Engineering Administration, and in 1887 he accepted a professorship in hydraulic engineering. Three years later, he accepted a call to the Royal Saxon Technical University in Dresden.
Engels had extensive practical experience, which enabled him to revolutionize hydraulic engineering and hydromechanics. Whereas empirical approaches had previously been the rule in the construction of hydraulic structures, he focused on scientific methodology and standards. Thus, in 1898, he founded the world’s first permanent river engineering laboratory at the Technical University of Dresden.
Engel’s activities extended as far as Vienna, and he was a consulting member for the Schifffahrtstechnische Versuchsanstalt from 1911. Due to his services to hydraulic engineering research, Engels was appointed the first honorary member of the International Association for Hydraulic Structures Research (IAHR) in 1935.

Zurück zur Übersicht

1923

Hubert Engels

HUBERT ENGELS (Medaille 1923)

Als Begründer der Wissenschaft des Wasserbaus ist Hubert Engels in die Geschichte eingegangen. Er studierte Bauingenieurwesen und spezialisierte sich auf Wasserbau. Zunächst war er bei der preußischen Wasserbauverwaltung tätig, 1887 übernahm er eine Professur für Wasserbau. Drei Jahre später folgte er dem Ruf an die Königlich Sächsische Technische Hochschule Dresden.

Engels verfügte über umfangreiche praktische Erfahrungen, wodurch er Wasserbau und Hydromechanik revolutionieren konnte. War zuvor empirisches Vorgehen bei der Errichtung von Wasserbauten die Regel, setzte er auf wissenschaftliche Methodik und Standards. So gründete er 1898 an der Technischen Hochschule Dresden das weltweit erste ständige Flussbaulaboratorium.

Engels Tätigkeit erstreckte sich bis nach Wien, er war ab 1911 Beratungsmitglied für die Schifffahrtstechnische Versuchsanstalt. Aufgrund seiner Verdienste um die wasserbauliche Forschung wurde Engels 1935 zum ersten Ehrenmitglied der International Association for Hydraulic Structures Research (IAHR) ernannt.

Zurück zur Übersicht