1932

Carl Bosch

Carl Bosch combined in himself the scientist and the industrialist. He studied mechanical engineering and metallurgy at the Technische Hochschule Charlottenburg from 1894 to 1896 and transferred to the University of Leipzig in 1896, where he obtained his doctorate in 1898. A year later, he joined the Badische Anilin- und Sodafabrik (BASF) in Ludwigshafen.
Bosch found his real major field of work when BASF took over the high-pressure catalytic synthesis of ammonia developed by Fritz Haber in 1908, and Bosch was commissioned to develop the invention into an industrial-scale process. He succeeded in producing and purifying the two gases required for ammonia synthesis at low cost and gradually developed ever larger industrial production units.
Bosch was appointed to the Board of Executive Directors of BASF in 1916 and became Chairman of the Board of Management of I.G. Farben in 1919. In 1935, he became Chairman of the Supervisory Board. In 1931, together with Friedrich Bergius, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for services to the discovery and development of high-pressure chemical processes.

Zurück zur Übersicht

1932 | Nobelpreis Gewinner

Carl Bosch

CARL BOSCH (Medaille 1932)

Carl Bosch vereinigte in sich den Wissenschaftler und Industriellen. Er studierte von 1894 bis 1896 Maschinenbau und Hüttenkunde an der Technischen Hochschule Charlottenburg und wechselte 1896 an die Universität Leipzig, wo er 1898 promovierte. Ein Jahr später trat er in die Badische Anilin- und Sodafabrik (BASF) in Ludwigshafen ein.

Sein eigentliches großes Arbeitsfeld fand Bosch, als BASF 1908 die von Fritz Haber entwickelte katalytische Hochdrucksynthese des Ammoniaks übernahm und Bosch beauftragt wurde, die Erfindung zu einem großtechnischen Verfahren zu entwickeln. Ihm gelang die kostengünstige Herstellung und Reinigung der beiden für die Ammoniaksynthese erforderlichen Gase und er entwickelte schrittweise immer größere industrielle Fertigungseinheiten.

Bosch wurde 1916 in den Vorstand der BASF berufen und 1919 Vorstandsvorsitzender der I.G. Farben, 1935 übernahm er den Vorsitz des Aufsichtsrats. 1931 erhielt er gemeinsam mit Friedrich Bergius den Nobelpreis für Chemie für Verdienste um die Entdeckung und Entwicklung der chemischen Hochdruckverfahren.

Zurück zur Übersicht